Review This Plant

Submit your own review with the form below and we'll add it to our informative customer database of plant reviews!


Rating:

View Reviews

See what our great customers had to say about Cotinus coggygria 'Ancot'.

4.67/5.00 stars Avg. Customer Rating:
(6 reviews)


Rating: 5 stars

Mike Ross's Review

Location: Bakersfield, California
Hardiness Zone: 9

I purchased two of these plants. They get many "looks" from passing cars. I've had a few ask about the plants because they are so striking. I will be getting more soon.

Reviewed on May 22, 2015 at 5:23:49 PM PDT

Rating: 5 stars

Funktron's Review

Location: Vienna, Virginia
Hardiness Zone: 6

Terrific plant. I ordered from Sooner 2-3 years ago, transplanted quickly and the Golden Spirit has done beautifully in a large front yard planter---a real center piece of the entrance to my home. I can't say enough about how hardy it's been (even through this last Winter, which was extremely harsh). It's also a beautiful small tree, though I'm concerned that the growth rate is outpacing the size claimed for a full sized, fully grown tree. At this point, I'm just hoping it stays under 15 feet. One really nice feature of the Golden Spirit is how unique it is---but I have a feeling that's going to change as more and more people see them and want one for their landscape. I'm near the Washington, DC area and it's done just great here. Definitely recommended, a five start plant. I haven't pruned it---really haven't done anything other than water it since I first planted. I followed the instructions and used the fertilizer Sooner provided. Since then, I've done no maintenance at all on this tree and yet it's shape is perfect. If you're considering one, go for it.

Reviewed on May 04, 2014 at 1:27:37 PM PDT

Rating: 3 stars

Bret Adkins's Review

Location: Colleyville, Texas
Hardiness Zone: 7

Lasted less than 1 year

Reviewed on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:11:40 PM PDT

Rating: 5 stars

Lynn Feller's Review

Location: Warwick, New York
Hardiness Zone: 5

Exceptional smoke tree - arrived in perfect condition with blooms. Transplanted perfectly. A small gem in the landscape.

Reviewed on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:12:50 AM PDT

Rating: 5 stars

Angelo's Review

Location: Vienna, Virginia
Hardiness Zone: 6

Sooner sent me a healthy, beautiful specimen. I am not one with a "green thumb" but managed to plant it in my new large front-yard planter last year. It made it through the winter sturdy and well balanced, with a little new growth---and is now giving a show of bright, lime green foilage. This is a unique plant, yet it is versatile. Definite recommendation.

Reviewed on May 11, 2012 at 12:00:27 PM PDT

Rating: 5 stars

Diane's Review

Location: Cypress, Texas
Hardiness Zone: 8

I planted this plant last year and it is doing great. Here in the Houston area it does best with partial shade, because of the intense summer heat. Full afternoon sun will cook the leaves. This plant adds a great neon green color to the garden. Love it!!

Reviewed on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:22:04 PM PDT