Review This Plant

Submit your own review with the form below and we'll add it to our informative customer database of plant reviews!


Rating:

View Reviews

See what our great customers had to say about Acer truncatum 'Fire Dragon'.

4.13/5.00 stars Avg. Customer Rating:
(8 reviews)


Rating: 5 stars

Nicki H's Review

Location: Texas
Hardiness Zone: 8

I ordered this tree in mid-March 2017. I had never ordered a plant online before and was a bit apprehensive about shipment and packaging. However, my maple tree arrived extremely fast and in excellent condition. It was packed very well with the root ball wrapped in plastic to keep dirt and moisture intact. I planted it few days later, and the tree seemed to experience zero transplant shock. It leafed out a few weeks after planting and seems to still be in great shape today! I couldn't be happier and will absolutely order from here in the future.

Reviewed on Jun 28, 2017 at 2:39:50 PM PDT

Rating: 4 stars

EA's Review

Location: Utah
Hardiness Zone: 3

This site has the USDA hardiness zone incorrect for my zip code (and most likely wrong for Draper, UT as well). The zone here is 7a.

Reviewed on Jun 25, 2017 at 11:08:50 AM PDT

Rating: 4 stars

EA's Review

Location: Utah
Hardiness Zone: 3

Is growing well here in its 2nd full summer. So far the autumn display hasn't been very impressive, but hopefully that will improve with age/maturity. It does seem to withstand hot, dry conditions well. The leaves are smaller than the average species. Remember to protect the trunk from winter sun scald over the first couple of winters.

Reviewed on Jun 25, 2017 at 11:04:53 AM PDT

Rating: 5 stars

Frieda's Review

Location: San Antonio, Texas
Hardiness Zone: 9

I planted this maple in October 2014. The tree was small and stressed when it arrived and only had 1 leaf when planted. It is doing very well and though has not put on the growth that Jeff described in his review, it is strong and healthy. I am from New England and missed the beautiful maples there, but hope this tree, along with 2 shantung maples that I bought locally, will equal the beauty and color there.

Reviewed on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:02:22 PM PDT

Rating: 1 stars

KB's Review

Location: Draper, Utah
Hardiness Zone: 3

Fire Dragon sounds promising. I ordered one to plant in the fall. Tree didn't survive the winter (possibly more hardy once established). Definitely order the 1 year guarantee on this tree.

Reviewed on Jun 24, 2013 at 12:39:10 AM PDT

Rating: 5 stars

Jeff Anderson's Review

Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Hardiness Zone: 7

By far the best, and only maple able to grow well here in Las Cruces, NM. The tree is spectacular and put on over 2.5 feet of new growth in 7 months. When you see the pictures of Fire Dragon Maple and wonder if the tree is really that red...it is! Maybe even redder than the pictures. Coming originally from Minnesota and missing the great fall colors of maples there, I now can enjoy one of my favorite trees here in the desert southwest. I highly recomend this tree for anyone longing for a bit of the north here in the southwest. Thanks, Jeff

Reviewed on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:43:39 PM PST

Rating: 5 stars

MBD's Review

Location: Walters, Oklahoma
Hardiness Zone: 7

A tree that needs to be planted much more often.

Reviewed on May 18, 2011 at 1:21:05 AM PDT

Rating: 4 stars

NW Arkansas's Review

Location: Arkansas
Hardiness Zone: 1

Nice tree that is growing ~2/yr. It has proven to be very resistant to late freezes.

Reviewed on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:47:10 PM PDT